Varsity Football · Varsity Football beats Mineral Wells 41 – 2

2 Mineral Wells High School
41 Gainesville
Away   Home
Away Home
Mineral Wells High School vs Gainesville
2 41
1 -   7
2 2   14
3 -   6
4 -   14
OT1 -   -

Gainesville Leopards add another home win; making their over all record 8-1 (3-1). Gainesville’s senior night provided a good crowd who displayed a lot of support for our graduating class in all sports, and all extra curricular. A thank you goes out to all involved with the Gainesville family.

Offensively, the Leopards spread the ball out to multiple players keeping the Mineral Wells defense off balance. Gavin Emerson and the offensive line cleared the way with 10 pancake blocks and consistently created running lanes. The ground game was led by Isaiah Gipson who amassed 82 yards and a TD on only 7 carries. Jayce Morgan ran tough adding 15 carries for 75 yards, and 2 TD’s. Tony Ochoa and CJ Feagins also shared some of the workload through out the night to keep the chains moving. Traylen Shinault went 8-10 through the air for 128 and 2 TD’s (received by Tre Lawson, and Isaiah Baker). Receiving leader was Izaiah Baker with 6 catches for 84 yards.

Defensively, the Leopards pitched a shut out on the evening. The Leopards locked down the air raid offense of mineral wells to 102 yards passing and 66 rushing yards. The defensive line proved disruptive all night,adding hurry ups, fumble recoveries, and multiple tackles. Robyn Hardin and Isaiah Gipson produced two interceptions with big returns. Mason Ford produced a strip sack recovered by Ethan Butler, in addition Kenyon Hawkins caused two fumbles; recovered by J.D. Harrison and Harrison Dempsey. Kenyon Hawkins also added 10 tackles from his OLB position and had great coverage from his position in the secondary.

The special teams unit produced an extra point, a touch back, and 5 well placed, well covered kickoffs; all kicked by Michael Fernandez. The punting unit added multiple punts in which Ethan Butler, Tre Lawson, and Tony Ochoa did a selfless and great job protecting the punter (Traylen Shinault). Isaiah Gipson, and Izaiah Baker added kick off and punt returns.

Congratulations to #29 Izaiah Baker (offensive), #10 Kenyon Hawkins (defensive) and #22 Ethan Butler, #9 Tre Lawson, #21 Tony Ochoa (all three special teams) for being selected the Gainesville Football Players of the Game.